About Mr. Hatch’s World!

Mr. Hatch is a tall, thin man that lives a simple, routine life. Until one day, a special package arrives in the mail with a note “SOMEBODY LOVES YOU!” Since then, we realize there are lots of people waiting to become Mr. Hatch’s friends. Our three talented performers, Jeny, Sarah-May, and Mika imaginatively transform every day objects into characters in Mr. Hatch’s world. I asked them a few questions to see what they love about Somebody Loves You, Mr Hatch and here’s what I got to know!

Mr Hatch Image.JPG

What is one quality you adore about Mr. Hatch?

I love how Mr. Hatch comes out of his shell, changing his tie and his demeanour without minding what people might think. His enthusiasm is contagious! – Sarah May

I appreciate Mr. Hatch’s unassuming nature. He doesn’t expect anything of others, and is always receptive toward the appreciations he receives. – Mika

I love Mr. Hatch’s crisp daily routine. He’s just so tidy and organized! I’d like to have a bit more of that quality in my own life. – Jeny

What is your favourite part in the show and why?

I like it when Mr. Hatch decides to bake brownies and have a picnic in his backyard with music and dancing. I wish we could really bake brownies during the show, but it’s fun that we can really play music and maybe people will really want to dance as well! – Sarah May

I like the walking. All the physical bits are so fun, especially with such memorable music! – Mika

I love it when Mr. Hatch interacts with us as the other characters in the story – I’m always so thrilled when puppets and humans play in the same world together. – Jeny

What is your favourite prop and why?

My favourite prop is the dust cloth that whispers somebody loves you to Mr. Hatch when he is trying to dust his house. – Sarah May

The harmonica is my favourite prop because I get to play it and it is a challenge. It is my Everest! – Mika

We haven’t worked with it yet… but I’m most looking forward to working with Mr. Hatch’s hat. I think it will play a great part in helping Mr. Hatch find different expressions throughout the play. – Jeny

Why did you choose to be a part of Mr. Hatch’s world?

I love puppets and working with Chris at Axis Theatre. This is really a very sweet story and I love playing with Jeny and Mika to make Mr. Hatch and his world come alive one puppet step at a time! – Sarah May

I love puppetry and knew this would be a sweet and fun puppet experience. Not to mention how lucky I am to be working with Jeny and Sarah – they are the best! – Mika

It’s such an honour to be a part of workshopping and developing a new play. This play has so much heart – and told with simplicity and honesty. There’s a truth and sweetness to this tale, and performing in that world well, what a lovely place to be as an actor, puppeteer and human being. – Jeny

Why don’t you come and be a part of Mr. Hatch’s world?
The world premier is happening this May.
Coming to the Kay Meek Centre on May 16/17 at 11am and 1pm +
the Gateway Theatre on May 18/19 at 10am and 1pm.
Tickets are only $12.50 a seat.

To book tickets to the Kay Meek Centre, call 604-669-0631.
To book tickets to the Gateway Theatre, visit gatewaytheatre.com

Leave a comment